About CIE-UK

The International Commission on Illumination - also known as the CIE from its French title, the Commission Internationale de l'Éclairage - is devoted to worldwide cooperation and the exchange of information on all matters relating to the science and art of light and lighting, colour and vision, photobiology and image technology. CIE is an independent, non-profit organization that serves member countries on a voluntary basis. Since its inception in 1913, the CIE has become a professional organization and has been accepted as representing the best authority on the subject and as such is recognized by ISO as an international standardization body. CIE aims and working methods are described in their document Lighting The Future Together.

The CIE is supported by the national committees of each member country. CIE-UK is the National Illumination Committee of Great Britain. The primary function of CIE-UK is to establish technical policy, to oversee the national involvement in the CIE technical programme, and to disseminate information to members.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees comprises a Chairman, two Vice-Chairmen, the Honorary Treasurer and the Honorary Secretary.

Chairman John O’Hagan
Vice Chairman Teresa Goodman
Vice Chairman Stuart Mucklejohn
Honorary Secretary Steve Fotios
Honorary Treasurer Nigel Parry
Executive Secretary Allan Howard



CIE operating expenses are supported financially by contributions from the National Illumination Committees (NIC) of each member country.

Each NIC depends on contributions from supporting organisations, income from the sale of Technical Reports and Standards and from the organisation of seminars.

CIE-UK is a Registered Charity (Reg No. 257185). The main income of CIE-UK is derived from membership subscriptions. https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-search/-/charity-details/257185/charity-overview

CIE-UK has a small fund that is used to support specific activities relating to the work of CIE.

Council Members


  • Institution Of Lighting Professionals
  • Society Of Light And Lighting


  • College Of Optometrists
  • IALD
  • Lighting Industry Association
  • National Physical Laboratory
  • Orangetek Ltd
  • Society of Dyers & Colourists
  • The Tintometer Limited
  • Thorn Lighting
  • Trinity House Lighthouse Service
  • UK Health Security Agency
  • Verivide Ltd


  • University College London, The Bartlett
  • University Of Leeds
  • University Of Manchester
  • University Of Reading
  • University Of Sheffield
  • Oxford University
  • University of the West of England



  • Leslie Lyons
  • Nick Smith
  • Ian Tutt
  • Christopher Wilkes
  • Diana Del-Negro
  • Allan Howard
  • Stuart Mucklejohn
  • Hugh Barton
  • Peter Curtis
  • John O'Hagan

For general enquiries and details of membership please contact the Executive Secretary, Allan Howard.